Skip to content

The 8th International Symposium on Gas Transfer at Water Surfaces

Tuesday 17 May 2022 - Friday 20 May 2022

: Plymouth Marine Laboratory (and online)
This event has now ended and is archived

The Gas Transfer at Water Surfaces (GTWS) symposium took place in May 2022. This topic is globally-important as understanding gas transfer is crucial for quantifying CO2 uptake by the ocean as well as the emission of climate-relevant gases such as DMS and other volatile organic compounds. The event was well-attended with nearly 100 participants (approx. 75% in-person, 25% online). Using PML’s new technology for hybrid events, and with the help of an external company (Mindfully Wired), we switched effortlessly between the room and online participants during the Q&As.

Traditionally, there has been a publication containing GTWS articles. This time, much of the presented work had already been published during the pandemic, so an updated version of the attached Book of Abstracts has been published instead, providing a link to the recorded talks / slides (see below).

Book of Abstracts

Click here to access the final Book of Abstracts publication


Presentations from the event are listed by session below and in the order from the programme. Each file is in PDF format except where stated.


Local organising committee

Phil Nightingale (Chair) - Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Tom Bell (Co-Chair) - Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Jamie Shutler - University of Exeter
Andy Watson - University of Exeter
Frances Hopkins - Plymouth Marine Laboratory

Scientific Committee

Tom Bell (Chair) - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (UK)
Phil Nightingale (Co-Chair) - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (UK)
Jacqueline Boutin - CNRS UPMC (France)
Craig Donlon - European Space Agency
Tzung-May Fu - School of Environment, Southern University of Science and Technology (China)
Herlina Herlina - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
David Ho - University of Hawaii (USA)
Frances Hopkins - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (UK)
Andy Jessup - University of Washington (USA)
Christa Marindino - GEOMAR (Germany)
Lisa Miller - Institute of Ocean Sciences (Canada)
Wade McGillis - Columbia University (USA)
Anna Rutgersson - Uppsala University (Sweden)
Jamie Shutler - University of Exeter (UK)
Rachel Stanley - Wellesley College (USA)
Hiroshi Tanimoto - NIES (Japan)
Rik Wanninkhof - NOAA AOML (USA)
Brian Ward - National University of Ireland
Ming-Xi Yang - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (UK)
Chris Zappa - Columbia University (USA)


ESA logo         SOLAS logo  Ocean Carbon Biogeochemistry logo

Silver sponsor


Bronze sponsor


Supported by:
PML Logo    University of Exeter Logo